Autosave, Faster startup, and more

Autosave

From now on, every design you create on your Glowforge will automatically save changes you make, as you make them. That means that if you close your browser, navigate to another page, or just hit refresh, your work will pick up right where you left off.

Should you make a change by mistake, you can use undo any time until you leave or refresh the page. If you want a clean start, you can always go to your dashboard and click the upload button to upload the file again. If you got the design from the catalog, then you can start fresh if you click on the three-dot icon and click “Reset Design” to remove all changes.

This was our most requested feature from customers like you - we’re excited to be able to launch it today!

Faster startup

When you turn on your Glowforge, you’ve probably seen it move the Printer Head to the center so the camera can determine exactly where it is. That process is getting a lot smarter this week, so your Glowforge will start faster and you’ll be printing sooner. You’ll also notice that it’s less likely to rattle against the left or right side, even if the head is not in the center when you turn it on.

More helpful messages

If you use material that your Glowforge measures to be too thick or print a file that your Glowforge can’t handle, you’ll now get a more detailed message explaining what happened and what you can do about it.

We’ve made some improvements to squash bugs, improve appearances, and speed up the print preview page. You should find it works better now on non-Chrome browsers, too! Note that the image no longer blurs when your lid is open - instead, it changes to black-and-white.